Social Media

For the past 2 weeks I have travelled back in time 50 years and haven’t had a phone. Well, I have but it is the most simple Nokia around and it’s best feature is the flashlight, need I say more. So because of this I haven’t been able to have instant access to my favourite past time, social media, and it hasn’t been an enjoyable experience.

I’m joking, it really hasn’t been that bad but it just meant I couldn’t put on my witty (well I think they’re witty) tweets whenever I wanted to.

Anyway, I thought I would show what I have learnt throughout these two weeks about social media.

People discuss what they have seen online  A LOT. Every single one of my friends has said to me “did you see what (insert name here) put on Instagram” closely followed by a disgusted/sad look from me to which they immediately laugh and apologise as though they want to see me in pain. People always say that the younger generation these days are constantly on their phones, but I don’t see why this is necessarily  a bad thing as people then discuss what they have seen on their phones with their peers. I don’t know about you but I have learned a lot about the world’s events, for example Sperm Whales dying, via social media. It is a brilliant way to spread news in a speedy and effective way!

I have also learnt that I forget that things are happening. Obviously not the super important stuff but for example my favourite band, Moose Blood, released their tickets for an upcoming tour and because I hadn’t seen on my timeline about Moose Blood tickets I completely forgot they were going on sale! Luckily, my brother bought a few spare tickets just in case, so i am still able to go. Not sure what I would have done if I didn’t get a ticket. (Probably sat and ate my feelings in pastry goods.)

No matter what people say, I think social media is very influential for the younger generation and if used in a positive manner and you are not an idiot on it (which I know some people are) then I am not afraid to say that I have missed it. It is good to be back.

giphy

 

Leave a comment